LAFA Winners - January 2021


Best Picture

Latasha Harlins - Shannon Dion

Best Narrative Short

Latasha Harlins - Shannon Dion

Honorable Mention: Narrative Short

Mr. & Mrs. Ellis - Alan M. Brooks

Best Indie Feature

Jiyan - Otis Birdy

Best Indie Short

Asiago Kills! - Cristian Tomassini

Honorable Mention: Indie Film

Pandamonium - Dina McNeil

Best Drama

To Planet 2000 - Changyi Yu

Honorable Mention: Drama

God Bless - Elvis Nolasco

Best Comedy

Paldemic - Kenny Hotz

Best Dark Comedy

Good Monsters - Johannes Muhr, Julia Zimth

Best Parody

The Ring Light - Barret Bowman

Best Thriller

Asiago Kills! - Cristian Tomassini

Best Horror

Deep Shock - Davide Melini

Best Experimental Film

I, Anatolia - Feride Morcay, Elif Iskender

Best Inspirational Film

We're Turning into Regular People - Valen Zeng

Best Musical/Dance Film

Don't Stay Safe - Christina Franklin, Lesley Steele

Best Film Noir

La Schema - Alex Bowling, Stephen Byrum

Best Fantasy Film

Dear Name - Hillfinger (Hyung-kun) Hwang

Best Action Film

Dead Souls: Apocrypha Black - Korea Black

Best Web Series

Afsos - Anubhuti Kashyap

Honorable Mention: Web Series

Good Monsters - Johannes Muhr, Julia Zimth

Best Documentary Feature

Wim Wenders, Desperado - Eric Friedler, Andreas Frege

Best Documentary Featurette

Dreams of Hope - Henry Panion, David Macon

Best Documentary Short

PNW Indy Wrestling Spotlight - ShanzDev, Marc LeCuyer

Honorable Mention: Documentary

Eye of the Storm - Brooke Harris Wolff

Best Animation

A Walk - Zhehao Qiao

Honorable Mention: Animation

What Remains - Sianoosh Nasiriziba

Best Music Video

Street Spirit - Vicente Cordero

Honorable Mention: Music Video

Betamaxx: Never Sleep Again - Dan Przygoda

Best Student Film

Good Thing Going - Reece Daniels, Jivensley Alexis

Honorable Mention: Student Film

Woods in The Rain - Jim Zou

Best Microfilm

The Game - Tim Moldenhauer

Best Director (Feature)

A Perfect Vintage - Troy Christian

Best Director (Short)

To Planet 2000 - Changyi Yu

Honorable Mention: Director (Short)

We're Turning into Regular People - Valen Zeng

Best First Time Director (Feature)

Outlier - Nate Strayer

Honorable Mention: First Time Director (Feature)

Jiyan - Otis Birdy

Best First Time Director (Short)

Between the Creag and the Sky - Kurt Gerard Heinlein

Honorable Mention: First Time Director (Short)

Strung - Joseph Bezenek, Ryan H. Reid

Best Indie Filmmaker

Winter Garden - Mustafa Deniz

Honorable Mention: Indie Filmmaker

The Letter - Ray Holdridge

Best Young Filmmaker

The Waiting Room - Ella Jerrier

Best Actor

Delight - Paul Snodgrass

Best Actress

Latasha Harlins - Rayven Symone Ferrell

Best Actor in an Indie Film

Jiyan - Mohammed Mohammed

Best Actress in an Indie Film

Good Thing Going - Celia Spero

Best Young Actor

Strung - Wyatt Darling

Best Duo

Between the Creag and the Sky - Kathryn Harter & Ed Swidey

Honorable Mention: Duo

Locked - Alina Person & Simone Gallo

Best Ensemble

Good Monsters - Florian Maria Sumerauer, Peter Geisberg, Leif Evers, Florentine Schara, Julia Zimth

Honorable Mention: Ensemble

The Letter - Mike Palmer, Madison Spear, Maray Ayres, Krystal Beyer, Ray Holdridge

Best Cinematography

Mahanati (Great Actress) - Dani Sanchez-Lopez

Honorable Mention: Cinematography

Savior - Idan Menin

Best Editing

Glitches - Annie Chen

Best Score

Latasha Harlins - Dennis McCarthy

Honorable Mention: Score

Moving Art: Underwater - Alan Williams

Best Song

Journey's End - Radio Wolf & Parallels

Honorable Mention: Song

Good Monsters - Fritizis Song - Julia Zimth

Inspiring Woman in a Film

Good Monsters - Julia Zimth

Best Original Story

Greenhorn - Kevin Staake

Honorable Mention: Original Story

A Broken Arrow - Joshua Nelson, Sasha Nelson

Screenplay of the Month

The Lies We Tell Ourselves - Courtney Froemming

Best Feature Screenplay

The Lies We Tell Ourselves - Courtney Froemming

Honorable Mention: Feature Screenplay

Angelets - Hayley Jean Reeves

Best Short Screenplay

Air Kiss - Gio Forlenza

Honorable Mention: Short Screenplay

After This - Kaitlyn Clare

Best Drama Screenplay

The Bamboo Wife - Heather P. Shreve

Best Comedy Screenplay

Cocky - Tom Bruno, Chris Reina

Honorable Mention: Comedy Screenplay

Pickleballs! - The Movie - Daniel Edward Beeman

Best Horror Screenplay

Click Like to Die - Emily Rued

Best Action Screenplay

The Venus Effect - Lynn Vincentnathan

Best Sci-Fi Screenplay

Hysteresis - Lynn Vincentnathan

Best First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

Patrick - Benjamin Collins

Best Television Script

Charlotte Tanner - Beth Armogida

Honorable Mention: Television Script

Chicago Underground - T.J. Barkwill

Latasha Harlins - Trailer

More trailers:

* Winners may order an official LAFA statuette

* Winners may order a review - FilmFreeway Gold members get $50 off

* 5 LAFA filmmakers will receive a free blog spot - sign up for free at

Recent Posts





Winners may order the official

LAFA statuette

  • White YouTube Icon

Sponsors & Partners


LAFA is a FilmFreeway Gold festival, a member of Filmmakers Connect group and a Magic Productions Int Ltd brand. All rights reserved.