top of page

LAFA Winners - June 2024


Best Picture

Contracting the Cooties - Skylar Levine, Maya Bayewitch

Best Narrative Feature

The Unveiled - Saiful Islam Mannu

Best Narrative Short

The Companion - Kellie Madison

Honorable Mention: Narrative Film

Up, Up and Away - Kai Yin Canice Tam

Best Indie Feature

Red Rain - Samer Saifan

Best Indie Short

Stone Soup - Nikita Belomestnykh, Kristen Kiertzner

Honorable Mention: Indie Film

Made - Bach Tran

Best Drama

Amentalio - Fernanda Vilela, Mokotsi Rukundo

Best Comedy

Don't Die Hard - Tigran Sargsyan

Best Parody

Love Shack - Felix Williamson

Best Thriller

Taxali Gate - Ali Sajjad Shah

Best Romance Film

In A Split Second - Martel Taylor

Best Inspirational Film

My Mom's Best Friend - Xueqing Yin

Best Sitcom

Season and Renee - Dean Donofrio, Sunny Doench, Rebecca Lumianski, ErinRose Widner

Best LGBTQ Film

Fabulous Seven Forever - Gian Carlo Durland, A.J. Ciccotelli

Best Western

The Painter - Matthew Dooley

Best Mystery Film

Who Knows? - Brandon Rozo

Best Web/TV Pilot

Raymar - Adrien Boublil

Honorable Mention: Web/TV Pilot

Getting Her - Chris Haifley, Ilea Matthews

Best Commercial

No Bad Energy 3 - Will Coloan, Simon Khalil

Best Documentary Feature

Letters From The Battlefield - Jude Pago, Jacqueline Ruth Lundquist

Honorable Mention: Documentary Feature

Chasing The Midnight Sun - Dario Di Agostino

Best Documentary Short

Shepherd's Calling - Wubetu Shimelash

Honorable Mention: Documentary Short

A Peek Inside - Bryan Hamilton Chadwick

Best Animation

Contracting the Cooties - Skylar Levine, Maya Bayewitch

Honorable Mention: Animation

Unstoppable Beat - Luke Dye-Montefiore, Rufus Dye-Montefiore

Best Music Video

Heaven - Masha Shalagina

Honorable Mention: Music Video

Black Rain - Nathan Mudry

Best Student Film

Kaina - Aaryaveer Siingh

Honorable Mention: Student Film

Journey On - Yu Shen

Best Director

The Origin of Wind - Yang Liu

Honorable Mention: Director (Short)

Last Year's Tomorrow - Steven Heil

Best First Time Director

The Possible Life - Burke Doeren

Best Indie Filmmaker

Vic's Vac Shack - Will Dorney

Best Young Filmmaker

Tidal - Yanguo Hou

Best Actor

The Companion - Kris Saddler

Honorable Mention: Actor

Fabulous Seven Forever - Gian Carlo Durland

Best Actress

The Possible Life - Lauren Call

Honorable Mention: Actress

Don't Die Hard - Kirsten Bloom Allen

Best Actress in an Indie Film

Amentalio - Fernanda Vilela

Best Supporting Actor

Don't Die Hard - David Sargsyan

Best Supporting Actress

Fabulous Seven Forever - Julia Scotti

Best Young Actor

Up, Up and Away - Jarvis Chan

Best Cinematography

The Companion - George Billinger

Best Score

Halfway - Paul Awaraji

Honorable Mention: Score

Frankenstein - Eric B. Sirota

Best Song

Return To Skye - Kurt Rosenberg

Best Costume Design

Super Ruble Adventure - Cindy Higginson

Best Trailer

American Quarantine - Vugar Tahirov, Elmar Bayramov

Best Original Story

The Fish Collectors - Hailey Reese Hameetman

Honorable Mention: Original Story

The Great Animal Escape - Linda Harkey

Screenplay of the Month

Cop Comic - Jim Perry, Dee Ann Kinkade

Best Feature Screenplay

Room 57 - Susan Sweeney

Best Short Screenplay

Hear My Song - Rachel Walsh-Williams

Honorable Mention: Short Screenplay

Try a Waffle Cone - Miachel Pruett

Best Comedy Screenplay

Cop Comic - Jim Perry, Dee Ann Kinkade

Best Horror Screenplay

EIGHT - Phoebe Yemi Ara

Best Thriller Screenplay

The Merchant - Harry J. Xu

Best First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

Love's Pure Light - Steven Hawkins

Best First Time Screenwriter (Short)

The Paths We Cross - Joshua Little, Daniel Lawrence

Best Television Script

The Belfast Connection - John Donovan

Getting Her Trailer

* Winners may order an official LAFA statuette

* Winners may order a review - FilmFreeway Gold members get $50 off

* Sign up for free at and get a chance to win a free blog spot


Recent Posts





Winners may order the official

LAFA statuette

bottom of page