top of page


October 2019

Ruby Baby review
Matthew Mark Luke John design
The Strangers We Know design
Phase 6 design
Safely to Shore design
Pledge It design
Petra design
Overexposed design
Who Am I
Lee DeWyze Castles design
June design
From an End, a Beginning design
Jacpott design
Indigenous Fight for Survival design
Here Today design
Forbidden Power design
Flow design
Whiteboard Challenge design
Kingdom Anthem The Kingdom Descends Upon
Death of a Traveling Life Insurance Sale
Dinner at my Place design
Darkest Age design
Believables design
Await the Dawn design
Arc North x Polarbearz (ft
A Lack of Colour design
AYANEH design
‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏LAFA FINALISTS 2019 10
‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏LAFA SF 2019 10 - SCRE
‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏‏LAFA SF 2019 10

Best Picture

Ruby Baby

Lee Mcqueen

Best Narrative Film

The Strangers We Know

Alana Grace


Honorable Mention: Narrative Film

Ted and Hanna

Henrique Saladini

Best Indie Feature

Matthew Mark Luke John

Tom Wilson


Honorable Mention: Indie Feature

Creeping Out

Jakub Mateusz Boruń

Best Indie Short

Darkest Age

Isabella Jacqueline

Honorable Mention: Indie Short


Shamila Lengsfeld


Best Drama

A Lack of Colour

Craig Brownrigg

Honorable Mention: Drama

Darkest Age

Isabella Jacqueline

Best Comedy

Pledge It

Rachael Sonnenberg


Honorable Mention: Comedy


Sean Wilde

Best Dark Comedy

Ruby Baby

Lee Mcqueen

Honorable Mention: Dark Comedy


Giles Greenwood, Jonathan Digby

Best Romantic Comedy

Dinner at my Place

Kevin Luther Apaa

Best Parody

Pledge It

Rachael Sonnenberg

Honorable Mention: Parody

Mambo 101

Michael Mayers

Best Thriller

Safely to Shore

Matthew R. Ford

Honorable Mention: Thriller

A Shot of Irish

Andrew Calvetti

Best Horror

Await the Dawn

Pablo Macho Maysonet IV


Honorable Mention: Horror


Andreas Avgousti

Best Romance Film


Mansi Bhajanka

Best Sci-Fi

Forbidden Power

Paul Kyriazi

Honorable Mention: Sci-Fi


Andrew Walton

Best Experimental Film


Juan Castilla

Honorable Mention: Experimental Film

New York Rhapsody

Salvatore D'Alia

Best Inspirational Film

From an End, a Beginning

Roberta De Santis, Maurizio Masciopinto

Honorable Mention: Inspirational Film

Lab Dog

Noemi Durivou

Best Musical/Dance Film

Kingdom Anthem: The Kingdom Descends Upon the World

The Church of Almighty God

Best LGBTQ Film


Nicolas Greinacher

Best Western


Justin Durivou

Best Fantasy Film


Andreas Avgousti

Best Crime Film

The Job Interview

Joncart Jonathan

Best Web Series

Whiteboard Challenge

Michael Kureth

Best Documentary Feature

Who Am I

Caleb Vinson

Best Documentary Featurette

Indigenous: Fight for Survival

Gary Rottger

Best Documentary Short


Joe Lombard


Honorable Mention: Documentary Short

Out Of Malibu

Benjamin Pollack


Best Animation

Lee DeWyze "Castles"

Stefano Bertelli


Honorable Mention: Animation

The Adventures of Water Bottle John: Fighting For Your Afterlife

Edward Pritchard

Best Music Video

Arc North x Polarbearz (ft. Camille Neideman) - Together Now

Kevin Hindriks


Honorable Mention: Music Video

PLS&TY - Run Wild / Feeling Forever

Sean Cartwright


Best Student Film


Yangxuan Zhou


Honorable Mention: Student Film

American Vice

Emma Gobillot

Best Microfilm

Shinya Kimura

David Solomini

Honorable Mention: Microfilm

The Stiff

Raquel Deriane

Best Director

Ruby Baby

Lee Mcqueen

Honorable Mention: Director

A Lack of Colour

Craig Brownrigg

Best First Time Director (Feature)

Death of a Traveling Life Insurance Salesman

Alberto D'Onofrio

Best First Time Director (Short)

Phase 6

Jeff Dolan

Honorable Mention: First Time Director (Short)

A Missing Winter

TongJun Tan


Best Indie Filmmaker

The Job Interview

Joncart Jonathan


Honorable Mention: Indie Filmmaker


Daniel Roy


Best Young Filmmaker

Here Today

Meredith Grace Dabney

Honorable Mention: Young Filmmaker


Brandon Hill

Best Actor

Death of a Traveling Life Insurance Salesman

Michael D'Amico

Honorable Mention: Actor


Giles Greenwood


Best Actress

Matthew Mark Luke John

Rebeca-Nicoleta Cobzaru

Honorable Mention: Actress


Jessica Michael Davis


Best Actor in an Indie Film

Darkest Age

Bryce Myles Fenwick

Honorable Mention: Actor in an Indie Film

For the Benefit of Mr. Winston

Matthew Gerrish

Best Actress in an Indie Film

Safely to Shore

Sharni Tapako-Brown

Honorable Mention: Actress in an Indie Film

From an End, a Beginning

Roberta De Santis

Best Supporting Actor

Darkest Age

Harrison Green

Best Supporting Actress

Darkest Age

Susan Stevenson

Best Child Actor

A Lack of Colour

Dylan Barrett


Best Child Actress

Smoke Signals

Ella Lozier

Best Duo

From an End, a Beginning

Vito Signorile & Roberta De Santis

Honorable Mention: Duo


Rica Hellige & Palesa Moloto

Best Cinematography

Flickering Souls Set Alight

Petros Antoniadis

Honorable Mention: Cinematography


Hendrik Messner

Best Editing

Darkest Age

Kaleb Woodward


Honorable Mention: Editing

Phase 6

Jeff Dolan


Best Score


Tobias Alexander Ratka

Honorable Mention: Score

The Odd One Out

David Johnston

Best Song

For the Benefit of Mr. Winston - Rockin' Robin

Jimmie Thomas, Matthew Gerrish, Nico Zottos

Best Sound Design

Darkest Age

Liam Fretwell

Inspiring Woman in a Film

My Horse, My Passion

Petra Lisec

Best Makeup

The Last Heroes

Paola Laneve

Best Trailer

Myth In Shadow

Kieran Sebille

Best Virtual Reality

Tops of Memory

Jialiang Liu

Best Original Story

Creeping Out

Jakub Mateusz Boruń


Honorable Mention: Original Story

Mrs Blaquill

Luiza Oliveira


Screenplay of the Month

Law and Deceit

Chandra Gerson

Best Feature Screenplay

The Smart Life

Daniel O'Connor

Honorable Mention: Feature Screenplay


Michael Williams, Robert Biheller, Phillip Margolin

Best Short Screenplay


Matthew Macola

Best Drama Screenplay

The Butterfly Chain

Andres Quimi


Honorable Mention: Drama Screenplay

Warrior Spirit

Chris Tasara

Best Comedy Screenplay

The Second Coming of John Cooper

Kevin Kraft

Best Romance Screenplay


Quinn Hopkins

Best Horror Screenplay

Serial Killers Anonymous

Robert Forsberg

Best Sci-Fi Screenplay

More Remote than Bavaria

Jeff Woodard

Honorable Mention: Sci-Fi Screenplay

The 8th Sin

Uzair Merchant

Best Fantasy Screenplay

The Legend of Santa Claus & the White Hart

Quinn Hopkins

Honorable Mention: Fantasy Screenplay

My Yearbook

Jim Norman

Best First Time Screenwriter (Feature)


Hayley Jean Reeves

Honorable Mention: First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

Paul & Virginia

Clemy Clarke

Best First Time Screenwriter (Short)


Rebecca Hickey

Best Television Script

A Crack in the Sky

Thomas Franey




Winners may order the official

LAFA statuette

Matthew Mark Luke John
The Strangers We Know
 Phase 6
The Job Interview
Ted and Hanna
Whiteboard Challenge
Safely to Shore
PLS&TY jpg
Await the Dawn
Kingdom Anthem- The Kingdom Descends Upo
Forbidden Power
Indigenous Fight for Survival
Dinner at my Place
Death of a Traveling Life Insurance Sale
Creeping Out
Darkest Age
A Shot of Irish
Arc North x Polarbearz (ft
Phase 6 Trailer
The Strangers We Know Trailer
Lee DeWyze - Castles Trailer
Safely to Shore Teaser
AYANEH Trailer
The Job Interview Trailer
Forbidden Power Trailer
Petra Trailer
bottom of page