top of page

LAFA Winners - March 2024


Best Picture

I feel fine. - Hailey Spicer, Austin Spicer

Best Narrative Feature

I feel fine. - Hailey Spicer, Austin Spicer

Honorable Mention: Narrative Feature

Two Good Two Bad Five Men - Mehmet Tanrisever

Best Narrative Short

Dream - Artur Matveev

Honorable Mention: Narrative Short

The Nightmare Eater - Ruei-Ci Jhou

Best Indie Feature

Celal's Train - Gökalp Yamen

Best Indie Short

Any Rose Blooming For Me - Lige Wuri

Honorable Mention: Indie Film

Rock Creek Express - Elijah Gordon Young

Best Drama

For Always - Caleb Huang

Best Comedy

Real Heroes Don't Die - Roman Mitichyan, Michael Pashan

Best Parody

Fitness Influencers Be Like - Zoé Mahfouz

Best Sci-Fi

Gemini - Nicole Ice

Best Experimental Film

Re-encounter - Xiaochu Dai

Best Musical/Dance Film

Roter Hund - Veronica Furman, Joseph Bisat Marshall

Best LGBTQ Film

In the Closet - Varakunan Panchalingam

Best Action Film

Dojo - Jon Paul, Erik R Campoy, Armin Alic

Best Web/TV Pilot

AI vs Deep State - Katalin Weith

Best Web Series

Manage This! - Michael Monks, Tara OReilly

Best Commercial

Mr. Cloudy G. - Hsun-Chun Chuang

Best Documentary Feature

More Than Our Skin - Tonia Magras

Best Documentary Short

The 90 Year Old Cyclist - Florent Piovesan

Honorable Mention: Documentary

Roaming History: New Orleans Four - Michael Rios, James Fierro

Best Music Video

Push Our Luck - Darci Lynne, Reagan Elkins

Honorable Mention: Music Video

I, Cyborg - Snowapple, Clément Clareton, Eva Schumacher

Best Student Film

You're Mine - Anthony D'Eredita

Honorable Mention: Student Film

In Waves - Shaohan Song

Best Director (Feature)

I feel fine. - Hailey Spicer, Austin Spicer

Best Director (Short)

Lost Innocence - Christian Elliott

Honorable Mention: Director

AI vs Deep State - Katalin Weith

Best First Time Director (Feature)

Gemini - Nicole Ice

Honorable Mention: First Time Director (Feature)

Broken Mirror - Ashwin Vijaykumar Agrawal

Best First Time Director (Short)

Real Heroes Don't Die - Roman Mitichyan, Michael Pashan

Honorable Mention: First Time Director (Short)

Paramour - Charli Masson

Best Actor

I feel fine. - Elijah Passmore

Best Actress

Lost Innocence - Sokythyda Vannarin

Best Actor in an Indie Film

Dream - Anton Vlasov

Best Actress in an Indie Film

Broken Mirror - Titiksha Taggar

Best Ensemble

Searching for Yoo - Marissa Lichwick, John Ruby, Chris Kim, Karla Kim, Dwight Sora, Avelyn Choi, Annabella Camadelli, Laike Glesne, Bruce Baek

Best Cinematography

Lost Innocence - Caleb Ware

Best Score

This Crowded Room - Melanie Vlosky, Michael P. Sorrentino, Jr.

Best Song

This Crowded Room - Melanie Vlosky, Michael P. Sorrentino, Jr., Travis S. Branch, Lois Larson

Best Sound Design

AI vs Deep State - Tamás Kreiner

Inspiring Woman in a Film

She Is 17 Again - Brenda Turner Ingraham

Best Visual Effects

AI vs Deep State - Márk Grátz, Ádám Bedzsula

Best Trailer

Gotterdammerung Investment - Phil Ramcke

Best Original Story

AI vs Deep State - Duncan Shelley, Ádám Rozgonyi

Screenplay of the Month

The Show Must Go On - Kevin Michael Morin

Best Feature Screenplay

The Show Must Go On - Kevin Michael Morin

Honorable Mention: Feature Screenplay

The Locksmith - Julian Poulter

Best Short Screenplay

You Want It Darker - Sandra J. Paul

Best Drama Screenplay

Richard Spong - Terry Luke Podnar

Best Comedy Screenplay

The Spoon - Bryan Hamilton Chadwick

Best Horror Screenplay

Sacred Sun - Michael Louis Gould

Best Sci-Fi Screenplay

Sherlock & Jack - Jeff Wolverton

Best First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

Sài Gòn - Steven Morris

Best Television Script

Heir to the Beat - Gabriel Campisi

Honorable Mention: Television Script

The making of 'Uncle Payback' - Daniel Bodenmann

Special Jury Award - Film

Bleeck - Julio Valenzuela

Special Jury Award - Screenplay

The Haneys - Patrick Norris

I feel fine. - Trailer

* Winners may order an official LAFA statuette

* Winners may order a review - FilmFreeway Gold members get $50 off

* Sign up for free at and get a chance to win a free blog spot


Recent Posts





Winners may order the official

LAFA statuette

bottom of page