top of page

LAFA Winners - May 2024


Best Picture

#Lovemyselfie - Lika Berning, Helene Tuter

Best Narrative Film

The Acting Coach - Ingvill Thorson Plesner

Honorable Mention: Narrative Film

Paper Flowers - Todd Lien

Best Indie Feature

In A Split Second - Martel Taylor

Honorable Mention: Indie Feature

Broken Mirror - Ashwin Agrawal

Best Indie Short

Literally Me - Ezra Fax

Honorable Mention: Indie Short

Attentions - Laura Fantuzzi

Best Drama

Long Way Home - Yu Jing Luo

Best Comedy

Miscellaneous Thom - Kaleb Rimer

Best Dark Comedy

Thoughts & Prayers - Danny Farber

Best Parody

#Lovemyselfie - Lika Berning, Helene Tuter

Best Sci-Fi

Mirage - Hanson Ma, Jeffrey Su, Michael Wang

Best Experimental Film

Knives - Yeobin Park

Best Inspirational Film

I have no place to cry - Fady Jeanbart

Best Musical/Dance Film

A Celebration of Great Artists in ALAN's Universe - Susan Mey Lee Lim, Samudra Kajal Saikia

Best Film Noir

Detective Toaster - Wyatt Zalewski

Best LGBTQ Film

The Acting Coach - Ingvill Thorson Plesner

Best Crime Film

CHOICE$ - Jalen Fauntleroy

Best Web/TV Pilot

Story of Godia - Mouayed Zabtia

Honorable Mention: Web/TV Pilot

Target Jeremy - Eddie Velez

Best Web Series

Red Rooms - Joshua Butler

Best Commercial

How About Coffee First! - Phil Ramcke

Best Documentary

Wrestler straight from hell - Marek Lyszczyna

Honorable Mention: Documentary

Parenting Without Screens - Luis Luyando, Willy Martin

Best Animation

3.3 Bakery:The secret of Kimmi - Ying Lee Chan

Best Music Video

Meekz - Mini Me's - KC Locke

Best Student Film

Casa Paraíso - Mateo Sicilia

Honorable Mention: Student Film

The Wonderful Adventures Of Nils - Jianyu You

Best Director

Paper Flowers - Todd Lien

Best First Time Director (Feature)

The Sense of Separation - Yingjie He

Best First Time Director (Short)

The Acting Coach - Ingvill Thorson Plesner

Honorable Mention: First Time Director

Neighbours - Biyi Zhou

Best Young Filmmaker

Delirium - Jinsun Yoo

Best Actor

The Acting Coach - André Landzaat

Best Actress

Casa Paraíso - María Mercedes Coroy

Best Actor in an Indie Film

Literally Me - Tyler Fewin

Best Actress in an Indie Film

#Lovemyselfie - Illse Roos

Best Supporting Actor

The Acting Coach - Morten Rudå

Best Supporting Actress

The Acting Coach - Lavleen Kaur

Best Young Actress

Wellness Check - Ava Ungos

Best Child Actor

Echoes - Allen Deng

Best Child Actress

Paper Flowers - Sylvia Ye

Best Ensemble

The Acting Coach - André Landzaat, Denise Trankalis, Morten Rudå, Ed Lesemann, Casper Andreas, Lavleen Kaur, Frida Vhile Hansen

Best Cinematography

The Acting Coach - Talib Rasmussen

Best Editing

What if I Never Wake Up Again? - Youyin Zhang

Best Score

Whippy - Jon Clarke

Best Original Story

The Acting Coach - Ingvill Thorson Plesner

Honorable Mention: Original Story

She Is 17 Again - Joe Costa

Screenplay of the Month

HAHA - Sophia An Porter

Best Feature Screenplay

HAHA - Sophia An Porter

Honorable Mention: Feature Screenplay

Pretty Baby: The Tragic Death Of Marion Parker - Don Stroud

Best Short Screenplay

MORIBUND - Ana Dragomir

Honorable Mention: Short Screenplay

Metamorphosis - Antonio Enrique Cavallo

Best Drama Screenplay

The Repair Man - Brian McGrath

Best Thriller Screenplay

Echo Grove - Gavin Chief Meredith

Best Sci-Fi Screenplay

Sandstorm - Terry Luke Podnar

Best Fantasy Screenplay

A Rose Of No Man's Land - Sara Althani

Best First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

The Marked - Reggie Austin

Honorable Mention: First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

FORD - Leif Eric Peterson

Best First Time Screenwriter (Short)

Try a Waffle Cone - Miachel Pruett

Best Television Script

Twenty Somethings - Bianca Roth

Special Jury Award

Over The Horizon - Stephanie Parney, Nicholas Roy

#Lovemyselfie - Trailer

* Winners may order an official LAFA statuette

* Winners may order a review - FilmFreeway Gold members get $50 off

* Sign up for free at and get a chance to win a free blog spot


Recent Posts





Winners may order the official

LAFA statuette

bottom of page