top of page

LAFA Winners - October 2020


Best Picture

Second Team - Ria Pavia

Best Narrative Film

Second Team - Ria Pavia

Honorable Mention: Narrative Film

Come Home To Me - Gavin Bradley

Best Indie Feature

Sweet Taste of Souls - Terry Ross

Best Indie Short

First Kiss - Caroline Patz

Honorable Mention: Indie Film

My Demons - Amanda Carselind

Best Drama

The Last Chord - Franciszek Siwko

Honorable Mention: Drama

Comet - Yuan Ma

Best Comedy

Second Team - Ria Pavia

Honorable Mention: Comedy

Extra - Ilana Finocchiaro

Best Dark Comedy

Early Shift: The Remnant - Josh Lunetta

Best Parody

Chronicles of Gnarnia: The Rex Chadwick Story - Brian Colin Foley

Honorable Mention: Parody

Driftwood Episode Two - Darren Campo

Best Thriller

Mourning Meal - Jamal Hodge

Honorable Mention: Thriller

Sweet Taste of Souls - Terry Ross

Best Horror

The Witches of Bushwick - Catherine Delaloye

Honorable Mention: Horror

Mourning Meal - Jamal Hodge

Best Romance Film

HE/SHE - Norah Xi

Honorable Mention: Romance Film

The Tragedy of Domna Visvizi - Katerina Giannakopoulou, Mixalis Iliaskos, Dimitris Tektonidis

Best Sci-Fi

ROAM - David Jung

Honorable Mention: Sci-Fi

LemonMilk - Wylie Chan Wai Yee

Best Experimental Film

Tacet - Feriele Beggour

Honorable Mention: Experimental Film

Sin - Alberto Martín-Aragón

Best Inspirational Film

We Are All In This Together - Daniel Troia

Best Musical/Dance Film

THIS IS ME: Letters from the Front Lines - Jacques Heim

Honorable Mention: Musical/Dance Film

Orson Rehearsed - Daron Hagen

Best LGBTQ Film

Love is in the Legend - Myra Lewis

Honorable Mention: LGBTQ Film

We, Them - Michelle Do

Best Mystery Film

Cracks - Ece Cakiroglu

Best Fantasy Film

Sawa - Harinarayan Rajeev

Honorable Mention: Fantasy Film

Adversary: The Wicked and the Dead - Korea Black

Best Action Film

Mac/Beth - Gabrielle Giacomo

Best Web/TV Pilot

NOC - Non-Official Cover - Ian Voglesong

Best Web Series

Jade & Jaded - Sarah Franco

Honorable Mention: Web Series

Answers To Everything - Greg Lakhan

Best Documentary Feature

The Conscience of Clothing - Patrick Kohl

Honorable Mention: Documentary Feature

#LiveLikeHaris - Amina Chaudary, Beth Murphy

Best Documentary Short

A Fifth Season - Emma Forthofer

Honorable Mention: Documentary Short

Northern Rivers - David Ondaatje

Best Animation

Friends With Death - Jim McKenzie

Honorable Mention: Animation

Lea's Secret - Rico Gutierrez

Best Music Video

One Thing - Kevin Hawkins ft Moe3 - Manny Fresco, Rodney Pinz, Kevin Hawkins

Honorable Mention: Music Video

Drowning in Paradise - Drue de Milo

Best Student Film

Cocoon - Maxfield Cooper Smith

Honorable Mention: Student Film

MissPerception - Conner Kershaw, Ryan Sadaghiani, Camden Coburn

Best Microfilm

Ya Clown - David Gilna

Best Director

The Witches of Bushwick - Catherine Delaloye

Honorable Mention: Director

LemonMilk - Wylie Chan Wai Yee

Best First Time Director (Feature)

Love is in the Legend - Myra Lewis

Best First Time Director (Short)

Meanwhile At A Cabin Somewhere Near Fairplay, CO - Michael Chenette

Honorable Mention: First Time Director

52 - A Tale of Loneliness - Johnny DePalma

Best Indie Filmmaker

F8th - Glenn Plummer

Honorable Mention: Indie Filmmaker

Infinity by Two - David Pinczés

Best Young Filmmaker

bun·ny /’bənē/ - lost girl - Anna Martin

Honorable Mention: Young Filmmaker

The Reunion - Jiayang Liu

Best Actor

Cocoon - Christopher Brian

Honorable Mention: Actor

The Gliwensbourg Chronicles - Arnaud Thery

Best Actress

Mourning Meal - Ruya Koman

Honorable Mention: Actress

LemonMilk - Ng Wing Sze

Best Actor in an Indie Film

Dinner Rush - Eric Roberts

Best Actress in an Indie Film

First Kiss - Caroline Patz

Best Supporting Actor

Adversary: The Wicked and the Dead - Gus Langley

Best Supporting Actress

The Witches of Bushwick - Marianne Noscheze

Best Child Actress

Halloween Hero - Cadence Wright

Best Ensemble

The Witches of Bushwick - Chloe Farnworth, Catherine Delaloye, Marianne Noscheze, Alina Carson, Charly Bivona

Honorable Mention: Ensemble

Mac/Beth - Kelley Heyer, Amelia Tierney, Haley Sakamoto, Laura Jean Spineti, Elizabeth Robbins

Best Cinematography

Second Team - Robert Arnold

Honorable Mention: Cinematography

LemonMilk - Danny Szeto Yat Lui

Best Editing

Second Team - Spider Chambers

Best Score

The Witches of Bushwick - Daniele Panza

Inspiring Woman in a Film

The Necklace - Peter Halmi

Best Visual Effects

Sawa - Harinarayan Rajeev

Best Virtual Reality

My Home of Memories - Bob Yong

Best Commercial

Where the Miracles Live - David E Nault

Best Original Story

Sweet Taste of Souls - Terry Ross

Honorable Mention: Original Story

52 - A Tale of Loneliness - Johnny DePalma

Screenplay of the Month

Write or Die! - Christine O'Keefe

Best Feature Screenplay

Ocean Drifters - T.J. Barkwill

Honorable Mention: Feature Screenplay

CoinRunners - Lisa N Edwards

Best Short Screenplay

The Lesson - Vincent Scuro

Honorable Mention: Short Screenplay

Justice - Shaneisha Dodson

Best Drama Screenplay

The Last Ones - C. D. Peterson

Honorable Mention: Drama Screenplay

One Less Heartbeat - Jim Griffith

Best Comedy Screenplay

Write or Die! - Christine O'Keefe

Honorable Mention: Comedy Screenplay

Adult Adolescent - Persia White

Best Dark Comedy Screenplay

Ruined Vacation - Mark Donnell

Best Horror Screenplay

The Bloody Trail of the Lechuza - Bryan Nash-Sapphire

Best Thriller Screenplay

I am Delicious - David Sabbath

Honorable Mention: Thriller Screenplay

Breakfast In Saigon - DMI Macdonald

Best Sci-Fi Screenplay

UAS-5 - John Maslowski

Honorable Mention: Sci-Fi Screenplay

Google Man - Derrick Painter

Best Fantasy Screenplay

The Fish Husband - Lourvey Bourdan

Best First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

The Strange Affair of the Elevator - Katy Regnery

Honorable Mention: First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

Reality Check: Behind The Gate - Ruth Ann Luoma

Best First Time Screenwriter (Short)

Animal in the End - Paul Rowe

Honorable Mention: First Time Screenwriter (Short)

Slot - Megan Tremethick

Best Television Script

Imagination Park - Episode 1 - The Audition - Barry J. Smith

Honorable Mention: Television Script

Verified - Matt Gallagher


Recent Posts





Winners may order the official

LAFA statuette

bottom of page