LAFA Winners - July 2021


Best Picture

There You Are - Rui Huang

Best Narrative Feature

Now is Now - Peter Szajki

Honorable Mention: Narrative Feature

Silent Murder - Sandra Osawaru

Best Narrative Short

R[evol]ution Of Love - Louise Hylland

Honorable Mention: Narrative Short

Suddenly The Sky - Erwan Gobilliard

Best Indie Feature

Spiritual Journey the Journey Within - Philip Petrosky, Diana Lyr

Best Indie Short

Private Chat - Joe Bowden, Ashley Mellinger

Honorable Mention: Indie Film

Beautiful Moment! - Berkan Dörtkardeş

Best Drama

Life Drawing - Gregory Earls

Honorable Mention: Drama

Masquerade - John Kelly

Best Comedy

Private Chat - Joe Bowden, Ashley Mellinger

Honorable Mention: Comedy

Moorriiss the Robot - Wade Chitwood

Best Dark Comedy

Gangsta Island - Ken Lewis

Best Romantic Comedy

Now is Now - Peter Szajki

Best Romance Film

Goodnight - Revell Carpenter

Best Sci-Fi

Signals - Bryan Wynn Sutton

Honorable Mention: Sci-Fi

Dearly Beloved - Edward Douglas, Ruthellen Cheney

Best Experimental Film

Damnation - Alberto Martín-Aragón

Honorable Mention: Experimental Film

Paint On Paint # 6 - Vasco Diogo

Best Inspirational Film

Angels Do Fly West - Joe McNeal

Honorable Mention: Inspirational Film

ZIP Code Matters - Sena Mourad Friedman

Best Film Noir

Hanakotoba - Franck Lahoui, Jowkid

Best LGBTQ Film

TempaKILL - Rick Williamson, Dori Toledo, Julie Marie Hassett

Best Fantasy Film

Roots - Ryan Gathorne

Honorable Mention: Fantasy Film

New World Order - Susan Lim, Christina Teenz Tan, Samudra Kajal Saikia, Joi Barua

Best Web/TV Pilot

Gangsta Island - Ken Lewis

Best Web Series

Call Center - Brendan Daugherty

Honorable Mention: Web Series

Quarantine Horror Story - Cecilia Faraut, Ruthellen Cheney

Best Documentary Feature

The Ripple Effect - Peter Dickson

Honorable Mention: Documentary Feature

The Man They Called A Young Genius, Master Swordsmith Yoshikazu Yoshihara - Yoshiyuki Tanaka

Best Documentary Short

January 6 - Nicholas Quested

Honorable Mention: Documentary Short

Waterboo - Jeremy Klapprodt

Best Animation

There You Are - Rui Huang

Honorable Mention: Animation

Roots - Ryan Gathorne

Best Music Video

Jane Leo - "Tell Me" - Gille Klabin

Honorable Mention: Music Video

Outsider - Ying Chih Chen

Best Student Film

The Cry Of Silence - Mara Cracaleanu

Honorable Mention: Student Film

Red - Rachel Kong

Best Microfilm

Guts - Byung Gun Park

Honorable Mention: Microfilm

Legend of the Claw - Shailyn Farmer

Best Director

R[evol]ution Of Love - Louise Hylland

Honorable Mention: Director

AfterLife - Andy Lam Wai Hin

Best First Time Director

Hanakotoba - Franck Lahoui, Jowkid

Honorable Mention: First Time Director

Red - Rachel Kong

Best Indie Filmmaker

Toy Boy - Nicole Delprado

Honorable Mention: Indie Filmmaker

A Path - Timothy Dhalleine

Best Young Filmmaker

Fish Tank - Freya Li

Honorable Mention: Young Filmmaker

Guinea Pig? - Rui Chen

Best Actor

Signals - Jonathan Lindsey

Honorable Mention: Actor

Now is Now - Tamás Mohai

Best Actress

Now is Now - Kátya Tompos

Honorable Mention: Actress

Goodnight - Revell Carpenter

Best Actor in an Indie Film

Masquerade - Barry Roe

Best Actress in an Indie Film

Faultless - Olivia Castanho

Best Duo

Hanakotoba - Lena Shan & Frédéric Chau

Honorable Mention: Duo

Shout to the Sea - Sarah England & Bill Bradshaw

Best Cinematography

R[evol]ution Of Love - Sophie Caroline Gohr

Honorable Mention: Cinematography

Life Drawing - Marianne Williams

Best Editing

Hanakotoba - Franck Lahoui

Honorable Mention: Editing

Signals - Bryan Wynn Sutton

Best Song

Evil Professor - Susan Lim, Christina Teenz Tan, Samudra Kajal Saikia, Ron Danziger

Honorable Mention: Song

Storybook Man - Lanessa Miller, Dwight L. Wilcox II

Best Sound Design

R[evol]ution Of Love - Peter Seeba

Honorable Mention: Sound Design

Helicopter Mom - Alexis S. Frías

Inspiring Woman in a Film

The Smile of Gerta - Gina Faarup de Cochez

Best Costume Design

The Smile of Gerta - Luis Salazar, Jesin Palacios

Honorable Mention: Costume Design

Masquerade - Orlaith Kelly

Best Trailer

Armed Betties - Jackie Anderson, John Mannion

Honorable Mention: Trailer

PAX - Damir Bekerov

Best Original Story