top of page

LAFA Winners - December 2021


Best Picture

Love in Country - Richard Ray Gayton, Kurt Braun

Best Narrative Feature

Love in Country - Richard Ray Gayton, Kurt Braun

Best Narrative Short

HomeBound - Usher Morgan

Honorable Mention: Narrative Short

Hatshepsut - Sonia Machado Hines

Best Indie Feature

October 22 - Nauwroz Khan

Best Indie Short

At the Strawberry Stand - Gerald Pribek

Honorable Mention: Indie Film

One Note - Matthew Cooke

Best Drama

Reshape - Siming Zheng

Honorable Mention: Drama

Brothers - Ragini Bhasin

Best Comedy

Switch City - Allen Xu, Behnam Salimy

Honorable Mention: Comedy

Suchtpotential - Franz Josef Danner

Best Thriller

GARUDA - Issah Rahim Contractor

Best Sci-Fi

The Station Caretaker - Vladislav Emelin

Honorable Mention: Sci-Fi

Callisto's End - Nathan Schiele

Best Experimental Film

Paprika - Stephane Benini

Best Inspirational Film

The loneliness of who those do not exist - Alfonso Burgos Risco

Honorable Mention: Inspirational Film

Vortex - Michel Rousseau

Best Musical/Dance Film

Addictions - Sergei Stern

Honorable Mention: Musical/Dance Film

PROJECT 9 - Glory Crampton

Best Film Noir

True America - Dashia Imperiale

Best LGBTQ Film

Intended Parents - Jabari Redd, Dr. Louis Deon Jones

Best Western

The Gunslinger - Rachel Fitzgerald

Best Action Film

Overwritten - Jack Ruefli

Best Web Series

Hamlet & Ophelia - Scott Westerman

Best Documentary Feature

Still Suffering - Diana Puzikova

Best Documentary Featurette

Iorì:wase Presents: Warhawks - Brady Cross

Best Documentary Short

Em Hassoun - Elie Sahyoun

Honorable Mention: Documentary

Nobody Was Here..... The life of TMNK - Rodrico James

Best Animation

Broke and Bloody - Lanessa Miller, Ahren Field Buchheisteer

Best Music Video

Aitch - Learning Curve - KC Locke

Honorable Mention: Music Video

Trash/glue - Lucy Makhova

Best Student Film

Counterclock - Mara D'Alò Fonseca

Honorable Mention: Student Film

Panda Panda - Zijie Zhou

Best Director (Feature)

45 Days: The Fight For A Nation - Emile Ghessen

Honorable Mention: Director (Feature)

A Tear in the Sky - Caroline Cory

Best Director (Short)

HAN - Titus Paar

Honorable Mention: Director (Short)

I Miss Us - Roth Rind

Best First Time Director (Feature)

October 22 - Nauwroz Khan

Best First Time Director (Short)

Cordelia - Shelby Zhang

Honorable Mention: First Time Director (Short)

Omi - Vatora Godwin

Best Indie Filmmaker

Real Monsters - Isaiah Thomas Butler

Honorable Mention: Indie Filmmaker

The Black Ace - Richard M. Kates, Nolan Rhys Elias

Best Young Filmmaker

Is It My Fault? - Benjamin Pacheco

Honorable Mention: Young Filmmaker

Imagination - Ian Viktor Branch

Best Actor

The Station Caretaker - Gleb Kopysov

Honorable Mention: Actor

Dinner For Two - Maarten Cornelis

Best Actress

HomeBound - Katie Vincent

Honorable Mention: Actress

HAN - Yohanna Idha

Best Actor in an Indie Film

At the Strawberry Stand - Gerald Pribek

Best Actress in an Indie Film

Just Be Yourself - Renee Wood

Best Young Actor

Always Come In Second - Jeffery Liu

Best Child Actor

Haunted for Life - Hunter Paul Nickless

Best Child Actress

Han - Lilly Elva Leonora

Best Cinematography

Counterclock - Fabrice Schäfer Rodrigues

Honorable Mention: Cinematography

October 22 - James Hia

Best Editing

Spaceship - Mengyao Mia Zhang

Best Score

Princess of the Row - Julian Scherle

Honorable Mention: Score

Suchtpotential - Christoph Hüttner

Inspiring Woman in a Film

The Nest - Kiziana Jean-Louis

Best Trailer

HomeBound - Usher Morgan

Honorable Mention: Trailer

Han - Titus Paar

Best Commercial

Mazda CX-30, Made to inspire - Theodoros Tzartos

Best Original Story

Maron Doll - Soo Chyun

Screenplay of the Month

CODE 10 - Matthew Margo

Best Feature Screenplay

Escape from Virtue - Nick DeRuve

Honorable Mention: Feature Screenplay

Bloodlines: The Mogadishu Diaries 1992-1993 - Eddie Clay Thompkins III

Best Short Screenplay

Gloriana Pettus - Ken Teutsch

Best Drama Screenplay

Bag of Cans - Kenny Tran

Best Comedy Screenplay

Everything's Going to Pot - Valerie McCaffrey

Best Mystery Screenplay

CODE 10 - Matthew Margo

Best Horror Screenplay

The Sicken - Danny Alex

Best Thriller Screenplay

CODE 10 - Matthew Margo

Best Action Screenplay

CODE 10 - Matthew Margo

Best Fantasy Screenplay

Salt Beast Guardians - Yelitza Prada Breen

Best First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

The Son - Luke Riether

Honorable Mention: First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

Inheritance - Dallas White, George Martinez

Best First Time Screenwriter (Short)

Just Us - Renwick McAslan

Best Television Script

Special Agent - Donnalyn Vojta

Honorable Mention: Television Script

Positives - Katie Fahey

Special Jury Award

Dinner For Two - Joe Lobianco

Special Jury Award

Plane Ransom - Ryan Lewis Meyer

Special Jury Award

Forgotten Victory - Christopher HK Lee

Special Jury Award

Dichotomized - Teodor Brkovic Gajin

Special Jury Award

Maron Doll - Soo Chyun, Yoo Seok Jong

Aitch - Learning Curve

* Winners may order an official LAFA statuette

* Winners may order a review - FilmFreeway Gold members get $50 off

* 3 LAFA filmmakers will receive a free blog spot - sign up for free at


Recent Posts





Winners may order the official

LAFA statuette

bottom of page