top of page

7th Annual LAFA 2022 Nominations

LAFA is pleased to announce its full slate of nominees for 2022.

Best of Fest 2022

Medusa - Sophie Levy

Implanted - Fabien Dufils

Dreams of Daraa - Reilly Dowd

Mosaic - Victor Boccard

This is [Not] Who We Are - Beret E Strong, Katrina Miller

The Crossing - Tomas Simonsen

Best Narrative Feature

Medusa - Sophie Levy

Implanted - Fabien Dufils

Darts - Cosimo Tucci

Love in Country - Richard Ray Gayton, Kurt Braun

GOD & SALSA - Jess Thomas, Anayancy Thomas

Nightline - Robert Sedlacek

Best Narrative Short

Remembrance - Michael Kumar

Not Nothing - Suzanne Schmidt, Kerith Lemon

Fading Numbers - Aron Attiwell

HomeBound - Usher Morgan

Forest Giants - Michael Moskewicz, Augusta Mariano

Mosaic - Victor Boccard

Best Indie Feature

Everything I Am - Robbie Fatt

Fix - William Leitch

Myra - Christopher Baiza

October 22 - Nauwroz Khan

The Crossing - Tomas Simonsen

Situations and Circumstances - Joshua Kaufman

Best Indie Short

The Winter Fern - Gwen Gottlieb

The Other Side of the River - Junwu Tan

Adam - Martin Balaguer

At the Strawberry Stand - Gerald Pribek

La Petite Mort - Nicole Zhou

HMU - Hit Me Up - Danh Cong Nguyen

Best Web/TV Pilot

Arena - Myles Clohessy

Dungo’s Palace - Nathan H Colby

Olive - Flora Charlotte Lopategui

Left of the Dial - Nick Markovich, Andrew Lawton

PARADOX - Vasilis (Billy) Blioumis

DIVR - Rae Binstock, Zoey Martinson

Best Web/TV Series

Why Are You Like This - Jessie Oldfield, Adam Murfet

Unapologetic - Jay Tee Thompson, Ariel Simone

Anacostia - Anthony Anderson

My Journey - David Oryan

Alaska, The Last Frontier - Clay Croft

Siyaya - Come wild with us - François Odendaal

Best Documentary Feature

Man In The Arena - Michael Barnes

This is [Not] Who We Are - Beret E Strong, Katrina Miller

Hot Money - Susan Kucera

Still Suffering - Diana Puzikova

Dreams of Daraa - Reilly Dowd

Echoes of Silence - Ahmet Ertug

Best Documentary Short

The Simple/Crazy Life of Henry Cole - Melvin Audaz

DC Shoes: This Too Shall Pass - Chris Ray, Martin Fobes

Project Four Degrees - Ari Gootnick

Nobody Owns Me - Anouk Meissner

Once upon a bridge in Vietnam - François Bibonne

Only Human - Katerina Giannakopoulou

Best Animation

Dino Powers - Jinchul Kim

Atlas - Nazia Zaman

The Fairy Dream of Yeloli - Jin Jin

Delivery - Hsin Ting Lin

Almost Christmas - Xinyuan Zhao

Miracle - Shaofu Zhang

Best Music Video

Breakout - Garrett Edward Randol

NTO - Invisible - Jean-Charles Charavin

Closer - Anjali Nayar

Aitch - Learning Curve - KC Locke

Dead Of The Night - Minh Huynh

That Guy - Tyson Yoshi, YOCK

Best Student Film

Lucky Sisters - Peilin Xie

Atlas - Nazia Zaman

I Am Odd - Rory Russell, Benjamin Giroux, Mike Connaris

Counterclock - Mara D'Alò Fonseca

Fallen Angel - Taylor Marie James

Horseback - Shu Ya

Best Director (Feature Film)

The Crossing - Tomas Simonsen

A Tear in the Sky - Caroline Cory

45 Days: The Fight For A Nation - Emile Ghessen

GOD & SALSA - Jess Thomas

Wooing - Yang Ju Chiang

Medusa - Sophie Levy

Best Director (Short Film)

Twohey - Liam Penn, Chance McAdam

Analog Rainbow - Henry Czerwonka

Under the Influence - Lucy Regent

HAN - Titus Paar

Lifeblood - Nicholas Tory

Blue Egg - Jess Fisher

Best First Time Director (Feature)

Medusa - Sophie Levy

Leigh - Ryan Gaskett

Red Carpet - Scott Altman

October 22 - Nauwroz Khan

Dreamland - A Storming Area 51 Story - Brian Moreno

The Chimera Effect - Carlos Butler

Best First Time Director (Short)

American Hero - Manny McCord

Man in a Maze - Sergio Jimenez

Journey Home - Christopher Houlston

Cordelia - Shelby Zhang

Lifeblood - Nicholas Tory

HMU - Hit Me Up - Danh Cong Nguyen

Best Actor

My Dinner With Werner - Matthew Sanders

The Station Caretaker - Gleb Kopysov

Mosaic - Lucas Bravo

Somewhere Then - Javi Luna

Clear Water - Francisco Martos

The Crossing - Wiktor Simonsen

Best Actress

Medusa - Roxane Mesquida

Analog Rainbow - Brandi Botkin

American Hero - Melany Smith

HomeBound - Katie Vincent

GOD & SALSA - Jovanna Vidal

The Chimera Effect - Ashley Nichols

Best Duo

Medusa - Anamaria Vartolomei & Arnaud Valois

Not Nothing - Suzanne Schmidt & Christie Maturo

Mosaic - Lucas Bravo & Leslie Medina

Fallen Angel - Ian Peterson & Kaitie Cavataio

Chatter - Richmond Parakhen & Mel Taevin

Forest Giants - Michael Moskewicz & Erin Clark

Best Cinematography

The Chosen Path - Violetta D'Agata

Blue Lanterns - Federica Marchese

Journey Home - Edward Massey

Counterclock - Fabrice Schäfer Rodrigues

Mosaic - Raphaël Bourdin

Forlorn - Miguel Tafich

Best Editing

Medusa - Sophie Levy, Sanabel Cherqaoui

Analog Rainbow - Garrett Satow

After Masks - Josie Azzam

Spaceship - Mengyao Mia Zhang

The Cage - Hengrui Zhang

Somewhere Then - Jakob Ziemann

Best Score

Medusa - Olivier Marguerit

The Curse Of Lughus - Tim Janssens

Journey Home - Stewart Dugdale

Princess of the Row - Julian Scherle

Dreams - Walther Neto

Chatter - Rawleigh K Grove

Best Commercial

Forever Connected - Vinícius de Barros Gonçalves, Tom Silveira

Knotwtr - Obi Nwankwo, Kostas Garcia, Zaawadi

Tainan Fantage - Jason M Tseng

Mazda CX-30, Made to inspire - Theodoros Tzartos

Do Not Flip - Tim Moldenhauer

Mo Pies - In Love - Dandrell Scott, Monece Starling

Best Screenplay

Shadowmen - Dan A Loschack

Space Girl Blues - Bruce Pavalon

Rebranding Henry - Daniel Keith

Submerged - Josh Madden

True Hell - Greg Kousoulis

Recitation - Courtney Froemming

Best Television Script

Burt & Mildred Go West - Randy Zobel

L Ella - Gary St. Martin

Monstra - Samantha Garcia, Allison Garcia

Special Agent - Donnalyn Vojta

Reality of the Future - Zoe Quist, Daniel Lawrence Abrams

Stephie With A Why - Mirra Kardonne


Recent Posts





Winners may order the official

LAFA statuette

bottom of page