top of page

LAFA Winners - March 2022


Best Picture

This is [Not] Who We Are - Beret E Strong, Katrina Miller

Best Narrative Film

Forest Giants - Michael Moskewicz, Augusta Mariano

Honorable Mention: Narrative Film

boju weyín - Bimpé Fageyinbo

Best Indie Film

Adam - Martin Balaguer

Honorable Mention: Indie Film

Night Wander - Shengfang Lyu

Best Drama

Blue Moon - Emily Ruhl

Honorable Mention: Drama

Horseback - Shu Ya

Best Comedy

Servants - Desmond Hayes, Sarah Tither-Kaplan

Honorable Mention: Comedy

Dr. Antonio - Tigran Sargsyan

Best Parody

She’s An Instagram Model - Keith Orlando Harris

Best Thriller

PIT - Min Kim

Best Horror

Malibu Horror Story - Scott Slone

Honorable Mention: Horror

The Lady of the House of Love - Selena Xin Jin

Best Musical/Dance Film

Busy? Or Not Busy - Yawen Luo

Honorable Mention: Musical/Dance Film

Blue Delusion - Fang Guan, Yue Jia Yu

Best LGBTQ Film

DIVR - Rae Binstock, Zoey Martinson

Honorable Mention: LGBTQ Film

Unbarred - Melissa Davidson

Best Crime Film

Beautiful Violence - Joey Medina

Best Web/TV Pilot

Left of the Dial - Nick Markovich, Andrew Lawton

Honorable Mention: Web/TV Pilot

DIVR - Rae Binstock, Zoey Martinson

Best TV Series

Alaska, The Last Frontier - Clay Croft

Honorable Mention: TV Series

Siyaya - Come wild with us - François Odendaal

Best Web Series

Anacostia - Anthony Anderson

Honorable Mention: Web Series

Coffee Talk - Ya-Chuan Hsiao

Best Documentary Feature

This is [Not] Who We Are - Beret E Strong, Katrina Miller

Honorable Mention: Documentary Feature

Laura's Choice - Sam Lara, Cathy Henkel

Best Animation

Miracle - Shaofu Zhang

Honorable Mention: Animation

Dino Powers - Jinchul Kim

Best Music Video

A Feast That Never Comes - Sven Britt, Maria Juranic

Honorable Mention: Music Video

In Love With Your Silence - Deluxion Mohan

Best Student Film

Horseback - Shu Ya

Honorable Mention: Student Film

Scar - Ruijie Tong

Best Microfilm

Move Fast - Lucinda McLaren

Best Director

Forest Giants - Augusta Mariano

Honorable Mention: Director

Blue Moon - Emily Ruhl

Best First Time Director

American Hero - Manny McCord

Honorable Mention: First Time Director

Blood Dust - Batya G. Cruz

Best Indie Filmmaker

Let Me In - Matt Dooley

Honorable Mention: Indie Filmmaker

Welcome to Murderville - Dina McNeil

Best Young Filmmaker

Tragedy Strikes - Morgan Gullett

Best Actor

Clear Water - Francisco Martos

Honorable Mention: Actor

LIFE- A True Blessing - Ruthvik Reddy Kondakindi

Best Actress

American Hero - Melany Smith

Honorable Mention: Actress

Forest Giants - Erin Clark

Best Actor in an Indie Film

Vertical - Robert Dunne

Best Actress in an Indie Film

Let Me In - Hanna Lorica

Best Supporting Actor

Dr. Antonio - Matthew Moore

Best Supporting Actress

Blood Dust - Pam Renall

Best Child Actress

Freedom Point - Lila Lee White

Best Duo

Forest Giants - Michael Moskewicz & Erin Clark

Honorable Mention: Duo

Unbarred - Sarah Moon & Melissa Davidson

Best Cinematography

Forlorn - Miguel Tafich

Honorable Mention: Cinematography

Forest Giants - Dylan Pelle

Best Score

ANDROMEDE - Thibaut Vuillermet

Honorable Mention: Score

Forest Giants - Jeremy Robinson

Best Song in a Film

Tragedy Strikes - Sydnie Stephens, Morgan Gullett

Inspiring Woman in a Film

Secret Recipe - Gloria Ho

Best Visual Effects

The Harmony of Opposites - Alessandro Nardini

Best Virtual Reality

MYRIAD. Where we connect. - Michael Grotenhoff, Christian Zipfel

Best Costume Design

The Lady of the House of Love - Selena Xin Jin

Best Trailer

American Hero - Josh Ehrhardt

Honorable Mention: Trailer

Relics of the Madré Véna - Jason Knowles

Best Original Story

Forest Giants - Michael Moskewicz

Honorable Mention: Original Story

Dr. Antonio - Tigran Sargsyan

Screenplay of the Month

Space Girl Blues - Bruce Pavalon

Best Feature Screenplay

Space Girl Blues - Bruce Pavalon

Honorable Mention: Feature Screenplay

The Truth Therein Lies - Hayley Jean Reeves

Best Short Screenplay

Only Seven Days - Rapsodies SAS, Orso Vesperini, Carole Starcevic

Honorable Mention: Short Screenplay

Motel Room Sixteen - Aron Cagan

Best Drama Screenplay

Amy and Angel - Julia Verdin, Deedee Benkovich

Honorable Mention: Drama Screenplay

The Odd Son - Nigel Tyrone Simms

Best Comedy Screenplay

Jimmy Lazer - Josh Madden

Honorable Mention: Comedy Screenplay

The Prince of Walgrove Manor - Phillip E. Hardy

Best Dark Comedy Screenplay

The Murder (or Possible Political Assassination) of Santa Claus - Kory Orban

Best Horror Screenplay

The Lady of the House of Love - Selena Xin Jin

Best Thriller Screenplay

Resentment - John Maslowski

Best Action Screenplay

Scramble! - Laurence Ostrowsky

Honorable Mention: Action Screenplay

Bad Love Tigers - Kevin L. Schewe, Oliver W. Tuthill Jr., Tara J. Walker

Best Sci-Fi Screenplay

Ashes to Ashes - Jaime Gonzalez

Best First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

The Murder (or Possible Political Assassination) of Santa Claus - Kory Orban

Best First Time Screenwriter (Short)

Nora - Molly Kirschenbaum, Payson Whitwell

Honorable Mention: First Time Screenwriter

Marieta - Cassie C. Phillips

Best Television Script

Stephie With A Why - Mirra Kardonne

Honorable Mention: Television Script

Ardor - Brian Jeongwoo Cho

Special Jury Award

Stream of Consciousness - Jesse Shore

Special Jury Award

All Will Turn Out Fine - Cristina Rodríguez Graetsch

Special Jury Award

Black Ocean - Francesca Florentyna O'Hop

Forest Giants - Official Trailer

* Winners may order an official LAFA statuette

* Winners may order a review - FilmFreeway Gold members get $50 off

* 3 LAFA filmmakers will receive a free blog spot - sign up for free at


Recent Posts





Winners may order the official

LAFA statuette

bottom of page