top of page

LAFA Winners - June 2023


Best Picture

Rare Land - Efthimis Hatzis

Best Narrative Feature

The Inadequacy to be Together - Maximilian Hirsch

Best Narrative Short

Rare Land - Efthimis Hatzis

Honorable Mention: Narrative Short

Cosmos Melancolia - Alexandra Leroux, Damien de Medeiros

Best Indie Feature

Frame - JP Charlebois, MYRAI

Best Indie Short

The Last Liftoff - Collin Nelson

Honorable Mention: Indie Film

Diamond Dust - Ann Huang

Best Comedy

Boss of the Toss - Chris Harboldt

Best Sci-Fi

Earth Machiavelli - Avery Daman, Aliona Podkolzina

Best Experimental Film

One Wish - Jennifer Maliwanag

Best Inspirational Film

Where Life Can Truly Be - Alicia Van Assche

Best Film Noir

The Seeker's Speakeasy - David Barnett

Best Fantasy Film

Maluna - Jason Gonzalez

Best Web Series

Adoptame - Andy Sierra, Marco Rodriguez

Honorable Mention: Web Series

Startup:Palmieri Tech - Morgan Dukes, Johnny C Jones

Best Documentary Feature

Circles of Failure - Kevin Casanova Abrams

Honorable Mention: Documentary Feature

Road to Legacy - Abao: The Voice of a Nation - Chia Hua Lee

Best Documentary Short

Revitalizing Cities: Urban River's Rescue in Taichung - Jose Miguel Garcia Sanchez

Honorable Mention: Documentary Short

Why do people take photos? - Maryam Abdulghaffar

Best Animation

Bent Out of Shape - Chloe Merwin

Honorable Mention: Animation

The Jennie Show - EP4: Hotpot - Superdog, Kevin Lee, Michael Lalo Wang, Jasmine Wu Hanley

Best Music Video

ChatMrE - Kin Shing Kwok, Ka Lee Cheuk

Honorable Mention: Music Video

Light Switch - Ethan McCarroll, Jeff Wood

Best Student Film

Fili - Peter Filimaua

Honorable Mention: Student Film

Let‘s Dance - Shengyi He

Best Director (Feature)

The Inadequacy to be Together - Maximilian Hirsch

Best Director (Short)

Cosmos Melancolia - Alexandra Leroux, Damien de Medeiros

Honorable Mention: Director

Ben - Sebastian Hou

Best First Time Director (Feature)

Prada's Paradise - Hao Lu

Best First Time Director (Short)

The Last Dinner - Marie-Ange Casalta

Honorable Mention: First Time Director

Suburban Witch - Lily Emalfarb

Best Young Filmmaker

The Last Liftoff - Collin Nelson

Best Actor

Frame - David La Haye

Best Actress

Suburban Witch - Dylan Troesken

Best Young Actor

Rare Land - Theologos Hatzis

Best Young Actress

Summer Fun Time - Ryan Jordan

Best Duo

Fili - Joshua Leomiti & Eric Scanlan

Best Score

Frame - Liam Desrosiers

Honorable Mention: Score

Cosmos Melancolia - Damien de Medeiros

Best Sound Design

Roller Coaster - Peter Zongting Li

Best Virtual Reality

The Talent Stealer - David Slater

Best Commercial

Le Portrait - Elisa Vigroux

Best Original Story

Suburban Witch - Lily Emalfarb

Screenplay of the Month

Last Train To Oakfield - Warren Robinson

Best Feature Screenplay

Last Train To Oakfield - Warren Robinson

Honorable Mention: Feature Screenplay

Reloved - Ossie Sharon

Best Drama Screenplay

A Pill To Die For - Claudia Dato

Best Comedy Screenplay

The Pyramid - Frank Buttafarro

Best LGBTQ Screenplay

Holy Rollers - Katee Cook Forbis

Best Horror Screenplay

Marah From Eilat - Leiter Daniellson

Best First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

A Call To Arms - Julian Poulter

Best First Time Screenwriter (Short)

Salvation - Jiaoyi (Joy) Li

Best Television Script

The Bluffs - Lee Fries

Honorable Mention: Television Script

Foole - Andrea Ash

Special Jury Award - Screenplay

The Last Meal - Robert Priel

Special Jury Award - Film

Gold In Them Hills - Jeremy Johnstone

Mind Thief - Trailer

* Winners may order an official LAFA statuette

* Winners may order a review - FilmFreeway Gold members get $50 off

* Sign up for free at and get a chance to win a free blog spot

Recent Posts





Winners may order the official

LAFA statuette

bottom of page