top of page

LAFA Winners - July 2022


Best Picture

STOYAN - Roberto Ruiz Céspedes

Best Narrative Feature

STOYAN - Roberto Ruiz Céspedes

Honorable Mention: Narrative Feature

Riot - Andrew Moodie

Best Narrative Short

Ship of Theseus - Yiqing Gu

Honorable Mention: Narrative Short

Footprints - Yolande Geralds

Best Indie Feature

Memories of Another - Victor Blaho

Best Indie Short

Goggles - Brenda Laidman, Anna Nadtotchii

Honorable Mention: Indie Film

Candy Apple - Xiayang Li

Best Drama

Guber - Juliet Lucas

Best Comedy

The Jacket - Gady Meyer, Michael Skolnick

Best Parody

LadykillerTV - Jeremy Spencer, Michael Su

Best Horror

Attached - Xingyu Chen

Best Romance Film

A Normal Life - Liang Zhao

Best Experimental Film

Homo Ignarus - Joshua Scattergood

Best Inspirational Film

Phoenix 2021/A Survival Guide - Stilvi Psilopoulou

Best Musical/Dance Film

Between Here and Gone - Sadie Duarte, Iván Gisbert

Best LGBTQ Film

Tulpa - Chun-Chieh Wang

Best Crime Film

Riddle Me This - Ben Heald, Mark Haggett

Best Action Film

No Pain No Amor - Daniel Locicero, Angel Garet

Best Web/TV Pilot

Sober - Big Ted Robinson

Honorable Mention: Web/TV Pilot

The Undesirables - Joseph Pepitone

Best Web Series

WE/R - Jette Volland

Best Documentary Feature

The Biological Aging Challenge - Gary Null, Roland Marconi

Best Documentary Short

Stolen Spirits - Anne Worthington

Honorable Mention: Documentary

The Missing Weeks - Ali Ahmad Diab

Best Animation

Sleepless Beauty - Gog Mkrtchyan

Honorable Mention: Animation

Detached - Juhoon Hong

Best Music Video

Sueco - Salt - Nas Bogado

Honorable Mention: Music Video

G FLIP Ft. Chrishell Stause (Selling Sunset) - GET ME OUTTA HERE - Nas Bogado

Best Student Film

When You Leave - Jason Yamamoto

Honorable Mention: Student Film

Rotte - Niek De Jongh

Best Microfilm

Pizza Knights - Amelia Jane Vaughan

Best Director

One Day Back Home - Ruijing Chen

Honorable Mention: Director

Tóxico - Rubia Lima, Rafael Henrique Lima

Best First Time Director

The Missing Weeks - Ali Ahmad Diab

Honorable Mention: First Time Director

Journalism 101 - Michael Lopez

Best Indie Filmmaker

In the Spotlight - Jessica Qinyue Luo

Honorable Mention: Indie Filmmaker

Black Constellation - Jaime Urquiza

Best Young Filmmaker

A Ticket Through Time - John Christensen

Best Actor

STOYAN - Tristán Ulloa

Honorable Mention: Actor

When You Leave - Aoi Takeya

Best Actress

Kill Me - Eve Zhao

Honorable Mention: Actress

Office Hours - Linzi Martinez

Best Actor in an Indie Film

Yellow's Foghorn - Bradley Beachum

Best Actress in an Indie Film

Rory Home - Genevieve Shi

Best Young Actor

Wheel Gone Kid 3-Rolling In It - Reece Jagpal-Mohan

Best Young Actress

The Truth About Kindergarten - Thalia Anne Oliver

Best Ensemble

Yellow's Foghorn - Bradley Beachum, Harry Golby, Kristin Wetenkamp, Paige Van Conant, Ian Peterson, Grace Protzmann

Best Cinematography

STOYAN - Kenneth Oribe

Best Editing

Push - Jasmine Quiñones

Best Score

STOYAN - Pepe Herrero

Best Song

Sharl - I Fell In Love - George Tsotsos

Best Sound Design

Journalism 101 - Arthur Tran

Inspiring Woman in a Film

Invisible Flags - Meitar Paz

Best Commercial

Stuck On A Frown - Tim Moldenhauer

Honorable Mention: Commercial

Fire on Tire - Royal Ismayilov

Best Original Story

Tóxico - Rubia Lima, Rafael Henrique Lima

Honorable Mention: Original Story

Family Tree - Xin Yan

Screenplay of the Month

BEACH - Gary Giudice

Best Feature Screenplay

In the Valley of the Braves - Sean McLaughlin

Honorable Mention: Feature Screenplay

An Unfamiliar Life - Toni D'Antonio, Mitch del Monico

Best Short Screenplay

Merry Little Christmas - Charli Masson

Honorable Mention: Short Screenplay

A Night In - Eduardo Olmos, Connor Tyler Gray

Best Drama Screenplay

BEACH - Gary Giudice

Best Comedy Screenplay

Treasure Trap - John Munn

Best Romance Screenplay

Merry Little Christmas - Charli Masson

Best First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

An Unfamiliar Life - Toni D'Antonio, Mitch del Monico

Honorable Mention: First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

GOLDLIVERY - Luca Cerbone

Best First Time Screenwriter (Short)

Ms. V - Brittney Thaxton

Best Television Script

Cabbagetown Confidential - Erik Long

Honorable Mention: Television Script

Esperanza - David Christopher Loys

Special Jury Award

Le Choix de Sofia - Alain Deslongchamps

Special Jury Award

Above Water - Ken Honjo, Kentaro Yoshimura

Special Jury Award

Family Tree - Xin Yan

Special Jury Award

Fat Bottom Ballroom - Sara Siggard, Amy Santos

Special Jury Award

Dreamcatchers - Felicity Bolitho, Anton Ballard

Sober - Sizzle

* Winners may order an official LAFA statuette

* Winners may order a review - FilmFreeway Gold members get $50 off

* Sign up for free at and get a chance to win a free blog spot


Recent Posts





Winners may order the official

LAFA statuette

bottom of page