top of page

LAFA Winners - February 2021


Best Picture

Patio of Illusion - Shangshi Chen

Best Narrative Feature

Patio of Illusion - Shangshi Chen

Honorable Mention: Narrative Feature

Righteous Villains - Savvas D. Michael

Best Narrative Short

How To End A Conversation - Gregory JM Kasunich

Honorable Mention: Narrative Short

Matty Boy - Dr Shahid Kamal

Best Indie Feature

The Strange Case of Henry Jekyll & Edward Hyde - Laura Ilinca

Honorable Mention: Indie Feature

The Waiting Game - Kyle Weingart

Best Indie Short

Awakened - Yulian Mateo

Honorable Mention: Indie Short

Election Night - Peter Zerzan

Best Drama

Paz - Andrew Gutierrez

Honorable Mention: Drama

Beyond the Fuchsias - Tara Jackson

Best Comedy

Pretty Metal - Mikhail Tot

Honorable Mention: Comedy

#richieneedsawife - Rich Devaney

Best Dark Comedy

Came With Cuffs - Issah Contractor

Best Romantic Comedy

Confessions From the Friendzone - Raychel McKelvy

Best Thriller

The Two Missing Hours - Jean Claude Thibaut

Honorable Mention: Thriller

The Q - Hannah Gordon

Best Sci-Fi

Fives - Alan Cameron

Best Experimental Film

Burn Down - Wang Xinyan

Best Inspirational Film

Las Gardenias - Federico Ahumada

Honorable Mention: Inspirational Film

The DS King - Doret van der Sloot

Best Musical/Dance Film

The Race - Carolina Stevens, Michael Everett

Honorable Mention: Musical/Dance Film

When Snow Falls - Anthony Morigerato

Best Mystery Film

Finding Ophelia - Stephen Rutterford

Honorable Mention: Mystery Film

A Curious View - Justin Hughes

Best Fantasy Film

Fix Me - Woonyea Han

Best Web/TV Pilot

Sugar - Joyce Keokahm

Best Web Series

Undateable - Matt Mahaffey, Brittany Bookbinder

Honorable Mention: Web Series

Road-Tripes - Adrien Bralion, Tatiana Bertrand

Best Documentary Feature

Candidato 34 - Ryan Marley

Honorable Mention: Documentary Feature

The Saviour: Brig. Pritam Singh - Dr. Paramjeet Singh Kattu

Best Documentary Featurette

The 108 Journey - Hugo Rozon, Mathieu Perrault Lapierre

Honorable Mention: Documentary Featurette

The Dark Side of Green Energies - Jean-Louis Pérez, Guillaume Pitron

Best Documentary Short

Home: The Homelessness Crisis in North Dakota (Chapter 2) - Sonya Jensen

Honorable Mention: Documentary Short

Vision - Sergey Filatov

Best Animation

Contagious - Brian Schmidt

Honorable Mention: Animation

The Crow and The Pitcher - Charles Pearce

Best Music Video

What Happened to Stephanie? - Ciro Ayala

Honorable Mention: Music Video

Titi Woo - The Last Night of July - Anastasia Miasnikova

Best Student Film

Burn down - Wang Xinyan

Honorable Mention: Student Film

Soundproof - Gabriela Lima

Best Microfilm

The Crow and The Pitcher - Charles Pearce

Best Director (Feature)

Righteous Villains - Savvas D. Michael

Honorable Mention: Director (Feature)

The DS King - Doret van der Sloot

Best Director (Short)

The Two Missing Hours - Jean Claude Thibaut

Honorable Mention: Director (Short)

Heads or Tails - Caterina Gabanella

Best First Time Director (Short)

Soundproof - Gabriela Lima

Honorable Mention: First Time Director (Short)

Beyond the Fuchsias - Tara Jackson

Best Indie Filmmaker

Hero - Jayson Martin

Honorable Mention: Indie Filmmaker

The Argument - Ben Greene, Eshaana Sheth

Best Young Filmmaker

Painting Class - Yifei Song

Honorable Mention: Young Filmmaker

Spoon - Edwin Ramirez

Best Actor

Patio of Illusion - Kalok Tang

Honorable Mention: Actor

How To End A Conversation - Phillip Musumeci

Best Actress

The Two Missing Hours - Alisyon Le Borges

Honorable Mention: Actress

Sugar - Yohana Zecarias

Best Actor in an Indie Film

Shadow Valley - David Samson

Best Actress in an Indie Film

Rest Area - Mia Hunt

Best Supporting Actor

Black Eyes - Andrew Kingston

Best Young Actor

Untold - Tyler Robinson

Best Child Actor

Fix Me - Slate Holtsclaw

Best Ensemble

Pretty Metal - Angela Cole, Lina Edwards, Katelynn Newberry

Best Cinematography

Righteous Villains - Andreas Neo

Best Editing

Tinhead - Zhe Song

Best Score

Moving Art: Whales and Dolphins - Alan Williams

Honorable Mention: Score

A Castle in Umbria - Edna Longoria

Best Song

Contagious - Brian Schmidt

Best Sound Design

The Two Missing Hours - Richard King

Honorable Mention: Sound Design

Butterfly Orchid - Chia-Hui Lu

Inspiring Woman in a Film

Mom's Work - Cieara Hill

Best Visual Effects

Major Robinson - Brandon Veen

Honorable Mention: Visual Effects

Fives - Neil Rowe, Wilby Ariezoy

Best Virtual Reality

Lessons of Auschwitz - Denis Semionov

Honorable Mention: Virtual Reality

A Pebble's Journey - Cece Jiao

Best Commercial

Operation Chrono - Irmãos Meirelles

Best Original Story

Painting Class - Yifei Song

Honorable Mention: Original Story

Til Death - Liana DiMitri

Screenplay of the Month

Ranger - Mason Beals

Best Feature Screenplay

Ranger - Mason Beals

Honorable Mention: Feature Screenplay

Yellow Bus - Wendy Bednarz

Best Short Screenplay

Beautiful Lines in the Night Sky Part II - Tyler Schultz

Honorable Mention: Short Screenplay

Petrov - Ryan Patch

Best Drama Screenplay

Still Time to Change - Jim Grieco

Honorable Mention: Drama Screenplay

17 - Michael Hurley

Best Comedy Screenplay

Hiccups - Michael Evans

Best Thriller Screenplay

A Love Story - John Hancock

Best Action Screenplay

Argyle - Keir Beck

Best Sci-Fi Screenplay

Bad Love Strikes - Kevin Schewe

Best First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

Industry - Jayce Baron

Honorable Mention: First Time Screenwriter (Feature)

The Hobby Horse Kid - David A. Gregory

Best Television Script

You, Me & The Ex - Rhys Freeman

Honorable Mention: Television Script

There Are No Black People In Space - Ant Thompson

Patio of Illustion - Trailer

* Winners may order an official LAFA statuette

* Winners may order a review - FilmFreeway Gold members get $50 off

* 5 LAFA filmmakers will receive a free blog spot - sign up for free at


Recent Posts





Winners may order the official

LAFA statuette

bottom of page